Nebraska Lease Agreement Templates (6)

A Nebraska lease agreement is a legal document that must be adhered to and signed by both parties. This document sets out the responsibilities of both regarding the rental of a property, including the duration, security deposit, rent amount, and other stipulations. The landlord may request a credit check on the tenant to ensure the rent payment can be made.

Last updated October 21st, 2026

A Nebraska lease agreement is a legal document that must be adhered to and signed by both parties. This document sets out the responsibilities of both regarding the rental of a property, including the duration, security deposit, rent amount, and other stipulations. The landlord may request a credit check on the tenant to ensure the rent payment can be made.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Nebraska

By Type (6)

Most Common

Standard Lease Agreement

An agreement between a renter and a landlord that outlines each party’s duties and responsibilities.

PDFWord

Commercial Lease Agreement

This is a contract for a commercial property that a business will use to rent for a certain duration and at a specific price.

PDFWord

Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

The renter or landlord can void this contract with a 30-day notice.

PDFWord

Rent-to-Own Agreement

A  contract under which the renter can purchase the property they rent from the landlord.

PDFWord

Roommate Agreement

An arrangement where two or more renters can legally define the rules of sharing a property.

PDFWord

Sublease Agreement

This agreement is for someone looking to sublet the space they are currently renting, but only with the landlord’s approval.

PDFWord

Disclosures (2)

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Federal law states that a lead-based paint disclosure must be given to any renter if the building was built before 1978. (EPA/HUD Fact Sheet)

Landlord’s Contact Details – The landlord must disclose their contact information and anyone permitted to enter the premises. (§ 76-1417(1))

Security Deposit

Maximum Amount – The maximum amount that a landlord may charge for a security deposit is one month’s rent. (§ 76-1416(1))

Returning to Tenant – The landlord is responsible for returning the security deposit to the renter within 14 days of the lease’s end. (§ 76-1416(2))

  • Itemized List – If the security deposit has been deducted for any reason, the landlord must provide a detailed list of all damages done within 14 days. (§ 76-1416(2))

Collecting Interest – There are no laws regarding what the landlord is to do with the interest earned on the security deposit.

Pet Deposit – The maximum amount a pet owner may be charged is one-quarter month’s rent. (§ 76-1416(1))

Landlord Access

General Access – Nebraska’s law requires a 24-hour notice to the renters before the landlord may enter the property. (§ 76-1423(3)(a))

Emergency Access – If there is an emergency at the property, the landlord can enter the leased space. (§ 76-1423(3))

Paying Rent

Grace Period – In Nebraska, there is no grace period for late rent payments. The rent is due on the date agreed to in the original agreement. (§ 76-1414(3))

Maximum Late Fee – There is no specific maximum amount a tenant may be charged for paying rent late.

Returned Checks (NSF) – Writing a bad rent check in Nebraska may result in a $10 fee. (§ 28-661(7))

Withholding Rent – If a tenant does not receive essential utilities after notifying the landlord, the tenant may remedy the situation and withhold the cost to fix it from the due rent. (§ 76-1427(1)(a))

Reasons for Eviction (4)

Leaving Before the End Date – A tenant who vacates their rental is still responsible for paying rent until the end of the lease agreement. If the property sits vacant, the landlord shall attempt to re-rent it. (§ 76-1432(3))

Lockouts – Locking out a tenant is strictly prohibited without a court order. If the landlord does so without the court’s permission, they may face a three-month rent penalty. (§ 76-1430)

Non-Compliance – If the tenant is not complying with the contract, they may be given a 30-day notice to quit and 14 days to comply. (§ 76-1431(1))

Non-Payment of Rent – If the tenant fails to pay the rent, they may be given a 7-day notice to quit or pay. (§ 76-1431(2))