Rhode Island Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

A Rhode Island month-to-month lease agreement is a flexible rental contract between a landlord and a tenant. This contract renews monthly and may be terminated by either party with 30 days’ written notice.

Last updated October 25th, 2026

A Rhode Island month-to-month lease agreement is a flexible rental contract between a landlord and a tenant. This contract renews monthly and may be terminated by either party with 30 days’ written notice.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Rhode Island »
  4. Month-to-Month

Month-to-Month Laws

  • Termination Notice: Either the landlord or the tenant must give 30 days’ notice (§ 34-18-37(b)).
  • Increasing Rent: Landlords must give 60 days’ notice (§ 34-18-16.1(a)). A 120-day notice is required if the tenant is over the age of 62 (§ 34-18-16.1(b)).

Sample