Colorado Lease Termination Letter

A Colorado lease termination letter ends a time-specific tenancy, such as a month-to-month or a week-to-week rental. At least 21 days’ notice is required for a month-to-month tenancy, and only 3 days for a week-to-week tenancy. Once a tenant has lived in the residence for at least 12 months, the landlord generally needs a reason allowed by state law to end the tenancy.

Last updated October 25th, 2026

A Colorado lease termination letter ends a time-specific tenancy, such as a month-to-month or a week-to-week rental. At least 21 days’ notice is required for a month-to-month tenancy, and only 3 days for a week-to-week tenancy. Once a tenant has lived in the residence for at least 12 months, the landlord generally needs a reason allowed by state law to end the tenancy.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Termination »
  4. Colorado
Certificate of Service: Colorado allows the termination notice to be delivered to the tenant, left with a family member over age 15 at the property, or posted after the required attempts at personal service. The Certificate records how the notice was served. (C.R.S. § 13-40-108)

Required Notice

Sample