Oregon Lease Termination Letter

An Oregon lease termination letter can end a month-to-month tenancy with 30 days’ notice during the tenant’s first year. After the first year, the landlord needs a reason allowed by state law, and no-fault reasons require 90 days’ notice. If the notice is sent by first-class mail, add 3 days to the notice period.

Last updated October 25th, 2026

An Oregon lease termination letter can end a month-to-month tenancy with 30 days’ notice during the tenant’s first year. After the first year, the landlord needs a reason allowed by state law, and no-fault reasons require 90 days’ notice. If the notice is sent by first-class mail, add 3 days to the notice period.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Termination »
  4. Oregon
Certificate of Service: Oregon allows notice to be personally delivered, sent by first-class mail, or delivered through another method permitted by the rental agreement and state law. The Certificate documents how the termination notice was delivered. (ORS 90.155)

Required Notice

  • Week-to-Week Notice: 10 days (ORS 90.427(2))
  • Month-to-Month Notice: 30 days in the first year; 90 days with a qualifying landlord reason after the first year (ORS 90.427(3), (5))
  • Notice of Non-Renewal: 30 days in the first year only (ORS 90.427(4))

Sample