New Jersey Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

A New Jersey month-to-month lease agreement is a short-term rental contract between a landlord and a tenant. It specifies the rent and security deposit amounts and due dates, late-rent penalties, and other occupancy conditions. Either party may terminate the lease with a 30-day written notice.

Last updated October 25th, 2026

A New Jersey month-to-month lease agreement is a short-term rental contract between a landlord and a tenant. It specifies the rent and security deposit amounts and due dates, late-rent penalties, and other occupancy conditions. Either party may terminate the lease with a 30-day written notice.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. New Jersey »
  4. Month-to-Month

Month-to-Month Laws

  • Termination Notice: A one-month notice to quit is required before the lease can be terminated. (§ 2A:18-56(b))
  • Increasing Rent: The landlord must give the tenant one month’s notice to raise the rent (Rent Increase Bulletin).

Sample