California Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

A California month-to-month lease agreement outlines the conditions of a residential tenancy, such as the monthly rent, a security deposit, and property upkeep. The lease also outlines how a landlord can terminate the contract, which in California depends on how long the tenant has lived in the property.

Last updated October 25th, 2026

A California month-to-month lease agreement outlines the conditions of a residential tenancy, such as the monthly rent, a security deposit, and property upkeep. The lease also outlines how a landlord can terminate the contract, which in California depends on how long the tenant has lived in the property.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. California »
  4. Month-to-Month

Month-to-Month Laws

  • Termination Notice: If the tenant has lived in the rental property for less than a year, the landlord must give 30 days’ notice. The landlord must give 60 days’ notice to renters who have lived in a property for more than a year (CIV § 1946.1(b), (c)).
  • Increasing Rent: If the increase is 10% or less, the landlord must give 30 days’ notice. If the landlord increases the rent by more than 10%, the landlord must give 90 days’ notice. The landlord must give the written notice personally or by mail (CIV § 827(B3)).

Sample