New Hampshire Lease Termination Letter

A New Hampshire lease termination letter ends a residential tenancy with at least 30 days’ notice. For most rentals, the landlord must also give a reason allowed by state law. It can be handed to the tenant or left at their home, and the landlord keeps a copy with an affidavit of service as proof.

Last updated October 25th, 2026

A New Hampshire lease termination letter ends a residential tenancy with at least 30 days’ notice. For most rentals, the landlord must also give a reason allowed by state law. It can be handed to the tenant or left at their home, and the landlord keeps a copy with an affidavit of service as proof.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Termination »
  4. New Hampshire
Certificate of Service: New Hampshire requires an attested copy of the eviction notice with an affidavit of service. Notice may be personally delivered or left at the tenant’s last and usual place of abode. (RSA 540:5)

Required Notice

  • Week-to-Week Notice: 30 days (RSA 540:3)
  • Month-to-Month Notice: 30 days (RSA 540:3)
  • Notice of Non-Renewal: 60 days for an original lease of 12 months or more, or a shorter lease renewed for a total period of 12 months or more (RSA 540:2, II(i))

Sample